Manchester City v Chelsea, League Cup: live blog, highlights

0

Chelsea kick off their League Cup campaign with a violent clash against league champions Manchester City. Given the planning nightmare provided by compressing so many games into a three-month period thanks to the upcoming World Cup in Qatar, it’s as good as any time for Graham Potter and Pep Guardiola to spin their team and introduce some youngsters to “prime time” football.

That’s what the two managers chose to do today. From Potter’s side, he gives young talent Lewis Hall another chance to shine 10 months after his professional debut for the Blues in an FA Cup draw against Chesterfield, when Thomas Tuchel was still Bridge boss.

And with any luck, we could also get Omari Hutchinson’s debut for Chelsea’s first team following his return from Arsenal to the Blues this summer.

Let’s do this!


Manchester City starting line-up (4-3-3):
Ortega Moreno | Lewis, Dias, Laporte, Gomez | Rodrigo, Gundogan (c), Palmer | Mahrez, Alvarez, Grealish

Subs for: Ederson, Phillips, Stones, Ake, Haaland, De Bruyne, Bernardo, Akanji, Foden

Chelsea starting line-up (3-4-3?):
Mendi | Chalobah, Koulibaly, Cucurella | Loftus-Cheek, Kovacic (c), Zakaria, Hall | Ziyech, Broja, Pulisic

Subs for: Bettinelli, Azpilicueta, Thiago Silva, Gallagher, Mount, Hutchinson, Sterling, Aubameyang, Havertz


Date hour : Wednesday, November 9, 2022, 8:00 p.m. GMT; 3 p.m. EST; 1h30 IST (the next day)
Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England England, across the Atlantic Sea

On TV: Sky Sports main event (UK); nothing (UNITED STATES); nothing? (India); SuperSport Premier League (NGA); somewhere else
Diffusion: Sky Go (UK); ESPN+ (US); nothing? (India); DStv now (NGA)



Be great to each other and celebrate, guys!

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.