Live Match Blog – Royals vs Sunrisers 40th Game 2021 – Cricket Insights

Live blog

Get your fix of Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals stats, color and analysis on ESPNcricinfo’s live blog

Kane Williamson’s Sunrisers Hyderabad may not be in contention for a place in the playoffs, but they’ll be looking to spoil a party or two. Rajasthan Royals of Sanju Samson, beware!

You can find bullet-by-bullet commentary here in English and here in Hindi. If you’re in the US, you can watch today’s game on ESPN + in English, as well as Hindi.

No Butta Bomma for the SSR

David Warner started this IPL season as captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad. He had elite numbers for them: 95 games, average just under 50, strike rate above 142. This season, however, has not run its course: eight games and a strike rate of just 107.73. The ax fell for the second time this season. Today apparently he has not even moved the field. This is one of the iconic images of IPL: Warner leading SRH but drawing Williamson’s brain to the limit when the latter is in the extras. You wonder what Warner’s state of mind is in that he hasn’t arrived there yet. This is one of the great associations of IPL, Warner and SRH, and while it comes to an end with the big auction scheduled before the next IPL, they have created a lot of memories and magic together.

Changes all around

Nice little moment when Sanju Samson wins the toss and in his rush to claim batting rights first, forgets to shake hands with Kane Williamson. However, both captains remember well that their squad changed. For RR, Evin Lewis, Chris Morris and Jaydev Unadkat replace David Miller, Tabraiz Shamsi and Kartik Tyagi, who is injured. Williamson has more changes to remember but he does it perfectly: Jason Roy, Abhishek Sharma, Priyam Garg, Siddarth Kaul for David Warner, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav and Khaleel Ahmed.

SRH still has an outside chance of qualifying for the playoffs despite only winning one in nine games, but RR are more realistic contenders with eight points from nine games. They really need a win to get back on track.

Royals of Rajasthan 1 E Lewis, 2 YBK Jaiswal, 3 SV Samson (capt. & Week), 4 MK Lomror, 5 LS Livingstone, 6 R Parag, 7 R Tewatia, 8 CH Morris, 9 JD Unadkat, 10 C Sakariya, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Hyderabad Sunrises 1 JJ Roy, 2 WP Saha (week), 3 PK Garg, 4 KS Williamson (capt.), 5 Abhishek Sharma, 6 JO Holder, 7 Abdul Samad, 8 Rashid Khan, 9 B Kumar, 10 Sandeep Sharma, 11 S Kaul

Sidharth Monga is Associate Editor at ESPNcricinfo


About Author

Leave A Reply